Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Latest Highlights  
2014 Green Capital City: Which Covenant Signatory will it be?
Three Covenant of Mayors cities have been shortlisted to be crowned 2014 European Green Capital. The ceremony which will announce the lucky winner is to take place on 29 June in the Palacio Montehermoso in Vitoria-Gateiz, Spain, European Green Capital of this year and Covenant of Mayors signatory city.

The shortlisted cities are Bristol, Copenhagen and Frankfurt. The day, which will culminate in the award ceremony, will begin with a workshop featuring representatives from the present European Green Capital, Vitoria-Gasteiz, past winners Stockholm and Hamburg and also the European Green Capital for 2013, Nantes. The key topic will be “Green policies as a competitive advantage in cities.” The workshop will also involve a round table discussion with representatives from the three shortlisted cities for the 2014 competition title on the “Key to being a green city in 2014”.

Noteworthy guests will include Janez Potočnik, the European Commissioner for the Enviroment and Mercedes Bressso, President of the Committee of the Regions. This is an invitation-only event. Covenant signatory cities wishing to attend are invited to send an email to European Commission representative Marie-Hélène Vareille at Seats will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

To keep up to date with the competition and to read more about the shortlisted cities in the Evaluation Panel Report please click here.

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter May 2012 <<
(316 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors