Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Latest Highlights  
Covenant of Mayors Ceremony to be held on 29 November 2011
The date of the 2011 Covenant of Mayors ceremony has just been confirmed: it is set to take place on 29 November in the premises of the European Parliament, Brussels. The timing of the event is strategic, as it will coincide with the international negotiations on climate change - to be held in Durban (South Africa) from 28 November onwards - and will be held in the margins of the on-going debate on the EU Multi Annual Financial Framework, which is yet to determine the role of energy sustainability.

The ceremony will also take place against a backdrop of social and economic crisis, with positive news being in short supply in the present context of budget cuts, social protest, financial instability and energy constraints. While others are divided over strategic decisions concerning Europe’s future, Covenant of Mayors local and regional authorities stand united in their efforts to meet and exceed ambitious EU targets and create better living conditions for their citizens.

Through the Covenant of Mayors, a new paradigm is emerging, based on grassroots democracy, genuine political commitment, action, cooperation and solidarity.

As forerunners of this movement, local and regional authorities are expected to gather in Brussels on this occasion to move ahead and share their vision with EU leaders – including European Parliament President Jerzy Buzek, President of the Commission José Manuel Barroso and President of the Committee of Regions Mercedes Bresso – on how to sustain the initiated process and successfully lead the EU out of the crisis.

The full programme of this whole-day event will be available in the coming days.

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter September 2011 <<
(185 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors