Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Inspiring Achievements  
Covenant of Mayors’ expansion east and south
As confirmed by the recent adhesion of Ushuaia (Argentina), the Covenant of Mayors’ appeal stretches far beyond EU borders. This trend is set to continue, as notably demonstrated by a series of activities foreseen within “SURE”, a project launched in the framework of the [CIUDAD->] programme. The aim of this project is to support the objectives of the EU energy and climate package in two cities from the [ENPI countries->], namely Salé (Morroco) and Polotsk (Belarus) which have joined the Covenant of Mayors on the occasion of an official event held on 27 September.

As part of the SURE project Salé and Polotsk will be assisted in their endeavours by two European cities: Friedrichshafen (Germany), holder of the European Energy Award and Murcia (Spain), signatory to the Covenant since 2008. The EU cities will share their know-how and expertise with Polotsk and Salé, especially as regards the development of their Sustainable Energy Action Plans. Furthermore, the project is to support the implementation of pilot actions and awareness-raising activities, seeking to demonstrate to a host of stakeholders and beneficiaries the opportunities presented by a more sustainable use of energy.

The Covenant of Mayors development and consolidation eastwards is to be further supported by a soon-to-be-opened “CoMO EAST” office, following the launch of a call for tenders by the European Commission.

The office will assist local authorities in Eastern Partnership countries (Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine) and Central Asia (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan) in implementing more sustainable local energy policies.

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter September 2011 <<
(285 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors