Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Coordinators & Supporters Inspiring Achievements  
French Nord Pas-de-Calais Region joins as Covenant Territorial Coordinator
The French region of Nord Pas-de-Calais has joined the ranks of Covenant of Mayors Territorial Coordinators. As part of this new role, the regional administration commits to assisting local authorities from its territory in complying with the Covenant of Mayors requirements.

Signatories from the Nord Pas-de-Calais region range from large urban communities including Lille Métropole or Dunkerque Grand Littoral, to smaller municipalities, such as the communes of Lambersart and Merville.

By taking up this new responsibility, the regional administration is not starting from scratch: it already has a strong track record of supporting local authorities in devising and implementing climate and energy strategies.

Since 2008, the region, in cooperation with the French Environment and Energy Management Agency, has been helping local authorities from its territory in preparing their “Plan Climat Territorial– PCT” (Territorial Climate Plan) assisting them with the mobilisation of stakeholders, the organisation of technical support events and the development of an appropriate methodology, through the recruitment of a consulting firm.

Moving from an industrial past to a sustainable economic model, the Nord Pas de-Calais-Region is among the first to have developed a regional scheme for climate, air and energy, following an extensive consultation process. Among other things, this ambitious roadmap foresees the reduction of GHG emissions by four until 2050.

The Corsica and Nord Pas-de-Calais regions are the first two regional administrations in France to have signed a Territorial Coordinator agreement with the European Commission. It is hoped that their example will inspire other to follow suit.

    >> Covenant Coordinators & Supporters April 2012 << (201 visits )  
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors