Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Guidance & Support  
POLLEC: Supporting Walloon local authorities in their energy transition process

In the framework of the Covenant of Mayors, the Belgian Region of Wallonia created a mobilisation and support campaign to help municipalities kick-off their energy transition process.

The first POLLEC call for proposals (local policy for energy and climate) financially supported 17 municipalities. These municipalities signed the Covenant of Mayors, carried out an energy inventory of their territory and developed a Sustainable Energy Action Plan (SEAP) thanks to the support of the POLLEC campaign.

Willing to scale up the support provided to municipalities, Wallonia launched POLLEC 2 in March 2015. This call for proposals aims at helping Walloon municipalities, urban communities and provinces to set up and carry out a local policy for energy and climate in the framework of the Covenant of Mayors and to implement local renewable energy projects and innovative financing schemes for local energy production.

POLLEC 2 provides financial support to municipalities for the development of SEAPs, and methodological, administrative and organisational support to Covenant Territorial Coordinators and municipalities. In total, 113 municipalities will be benefitting from POLLEC 2, amongst which 88 have not yet joined the Covenant of Mayors. By the end of 2016, adding up to the Walloon municipalities already involved, 117 municipalities will have joined the Covenant of Mayors and have a local energy strategy. It represents almost 45% of all municipalities in Wallonia.

POLLEC 2 was officially launched on 21 October 2015 in Namur. You can find the presentations and read more about successful examples, tools and methodologies here.

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter Special issue - Nov. 2015 <<
(9 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors