Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Inspiring Achievements  
Thirteen Covenant Signatories apply to become 2014 European Green Capital
The deadline for submitting applications to the [European Green Capital Award (EGCA)->] is now closed. Some 19 cities from 14 European countries have applied for the 2014 award, among which 13* are Covenant of Mayors Signatories. The Award recognises and rewards local efforts to improve the environment, the economy and the quality of life in cities. The EGCA is given each year to a city, not necessarily a capital, which is leading the way in environmentally-friendly urban living and which can act as a role-model for other cities.

The applications will now be evaluated by an expert panel and this will include qualitative evaluations and a peer review of each application based on 12 indicator areas. Following these evaluations, 3-4 cities will be shortlisted for the 2014 title. The shortlisted cities will be invited to present their action plans and communication strategies to a Jury, which will deliberate and then make a final decision. The announcement of the European Green Capital for 2014 is planned to take place at a prestigious award ceremony in June 2012 in Vitoria-Gasteiz.

Europe’s first Green Capital in 2010 was Stockholm, Hamburg is this year’s winner, the Spanish city of Vitoria-Gasteiz will inherit the title in 2012 and, in 2013, the crown will be passed to Nantes in France.

* List of Covenant Cities which have submitted their applications: Antwerp, Brasov, Bristol, Brussels, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Gent, Ljubljana, Paris, Rotterdam, Tampere, Torino, Zaragoza Additional information

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter October 2011 <<
(200 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors