Covenant of Mayors
  Covenant Newsletter Inspiring Achievements  
Two Balkan capitals join the Covenant of Mayors community
The cities of Sofia (Bulgaria) and Bucharest (Romania) just joined the list of European capitals which have signed the Covenant of Mayors, pledging to take decisive actions in an effort to curb their CO2 emissions by at least 20% by 2020.

The impact of the Covenant of Mayors in this region is indeed steadily growing. This in part is to be attributed to the involvement of Covenant Supporter NALAS, the umbrella organisation of local authorities from South East Europe, which notably organised a high level conference last March in Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) leading up to the adhesion of over 20 cities from the region.

Precisely one year ago, the network issued a common declaration, co-signed by the Council of European Municipalities and Regions, Energy Cities and the Foundation for the Sustainable Development of the Regions (FEDRE), calling for the support of the Covenant of Mayors extension to Western Balkans countries.

Capacity-building initiatives, such as ManagEnergy, which coordinated the organisation of a dedicated workshop in Sofia around the same period, also played a key role in the Covenant development in the Black Sea region.

Close to 3 000 Covenant Signatories, representing over 130 million inhabitants, have already chosen to move away from fossil-fuel dependence and exploit the renewable energy potential of their territory. With the growing interest of European capitals, this number is set to increase. In Balkan countries seven capitals – Skopje (Macedonia), Podgorica (Montenegro), Zagreb (Croatia), Sarajevo (Bosnia Herzegovina), Ljubljana (Slovenia) and now Sofia and Bucharest – already number among the signatories.

    >> Covenant Monthly Newsletter September 2011 <<
(282 visits )
Find us on:
Twitter Facebook
Covenant of Mayors
  The sole responsibility for the content of this newsletter lies with the Covenant of Mayors Office. It does not necessary reflect the opinion of the European Union. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein. The Covenant of Mayors was set up with financial support of the European Commission and consists of five associations of European local authorities: Energy Cities, Climate Alliance, Eurocities, CEMR, Fedarene, and ICLEI Europe.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe to this newsletter.
European Union  
Covenant of Mayors