Illustration News

The EU introduces new support initiatives for cities and regions
The EU introduces new support initiatives for cities and regions
21 December 2017 - 13:37

The European Union has recently proposed several new initiatives to support local and regional climate action.

The Urban Investment Support (URBIS)

During the EU Cities Forum held on 27-28 November in Rotterdam, the European Commission and the European Investment Bank (EIB) launched a new advisory service to help cities plan investments - the Urban Investment Support (URBIS). URBIS seeks to help cities design, plan and implement their investment strategies and projects by offering tailor-made technical and financial advice, in particular on innovative financing options and in the field of climate action.This initative builds on the existing advisory and project services of the EIB and is open to cities of all sizes.

The European URBIS model will also be extended on a global scale, as the EU Commission, the EIB, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and the Global Covenant of Mayors are currently developing the global URBIS initiative. Its aim is to provide technical and financial assistance to cities worldwide, in order to mobilise private investment for climate action. One key objective of the global URBIS facility is to facilitate access to grants and concessional finance for cities of all sizes.

The Platform for Coal Regions in Transition

Under the motto 'No region left behind', the EU Commission has also launched the Platform for Coal Regions in Transition, whose aim it is to support coal and carbon-intensive regions in shifting to clean energy. This new platform will facilitate the development of long-term strategies and projects in these regions, and seeks to foster partnerships between EU, national, regional and local stakeholders to ensure an inclusive and just transition process.

Furthermore, the EU Commission has pooled funding from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) to provide financial support to 5 pilot industrial regions in transition - the Covenant coordinators Piemont (Italy) and Wallonia (Belgium), as well as the regions Saxony (Germany), Hauts-de-France (France) and North-Middle Sweden (Sweden). Around EUR 500,000 is available for each region. The Commission will select 5 more regions and invites Covenant Coordinators to submit their application.

Regions can apply until 19 January 2018 here.  

To exchange
via your mobile
To become fan
of the Covenant page
To subscribe to the
Rss feeds
To receive news
in real-time
With the political support of the European Commission With the political support of the European Commission. Website coordinated by the Covenant of Mayors Office.
News | Agenda | Site map | RSS help | Credits | Legal